close
Christmas changes to rubbish and recycling collection days

Christmas changes to rubbish and recycling collection days

December 7, 2017

Ealing Council is reminding residents that collection days for recycling and rubbish will change over the Christmas period.

Refuse and recycling collections will change from Christmas Day and return to normal service on Monday, 15 January.

Usual collection day                                                          Christmas and new year collection day
Monday, 25 December 2017 (Christmas Day)                Wednesday, 27 December 2017
Tuesday, 26 December 2017 (Boxing Day)                      Thursday, 28 December 2017
Wednesday, 27 December 2017                                         Friday, 29 December 2017
Thursday, 28 December 2017                                             Saturday, 30 December 2017
Friday, 29 December 2017                                                  Tuesday, 2 January 2018

Monday, 1 January 2018 (New Year’s Day)                    Wednesday, 3 January 2018
Tuesday, 2 January 2018                                                    Thursday, 4 January 2018
Wednesday, 3 January 2018                                               Friday, 5 January 2018
Thursday, 4 January 2018                                                  Saturday, 6 January 2018
Friday, 5 January 2018                                                        Monday, 8 January 2018

Monday, 8 January 2018                                                     Tuesday, 9 January 2018
Tuesday, 9 January 2018                                                    Wednesday, 10 January 2018
Wednesday, 10 January 2018                                            Thursday, 11 January 2018
Thursday, 11 January 2018                                                Friday, 12 January 2018
Friday, 12 January 2018                                                      Saturday, 13 January 2018

Rubbish and recycling should be left at the front of the property, not on the pavement, by 7am on the collection day.

The re-use and recycling centres, located at Stirling Road, Acton and Greenford Road, Greenford, will be closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day but will otherwise remain open during the Christmas and New Year period.

Councillor Bassam Mahfouz, cabinet member for transport, environment and leisure said: “Residents’ usual rubbish and recycling collections will change over the Christmas and New Year period so please take a moment to check the revised dates to ensure your household waste is collected over Christmas.

“Plenty of Christmas food and gifts means that we see more household waste being produced at this time of year. Therefore I encourage local people to recycle as much as they can over this period. You can’t recycle too much and any extra recycling that doesn’t fit in your bin can be placed next to it in clear sacks or carrier bags.

“Ealing has a fantastic record on recycling. We are one of the most improved boroughs in the entire country and the second best performing borough in London. I am grateful to the continued work of residents in their efforts to help us achieve so much.”

Anyone unclear about their collection day or needs more information can visit the council’s website. People who wish to report a missed collection can do so online.

There are also plenty of handy tips to help people have a green Christmas this year.